Grief & Loss

There are a variety of family issues that are addressed through this material. From looking at the couple to the parent child triangle, to dealing with children with disabilities, these materials will provide information and answers that have some backing in research.

Misunderstanding Depression

Dan Duncan's picture

Depression may be one of the most misunderstood health issues in the world. Few people would criticize those who have physical diseases or disabilities, but many people express their opinions about depression. What needs to be understood is the difference between clinical or diagnosable depression and feeling depressed.

Helping Children Through Their Grief

Dan Duncan's picture

grief-loss-children-sadnessThis article was recently provided to me for publishing by a fellow professional and future provider to, Patricia Bubash, M.Ed, LPC. Hope you find this as helpful and informative as I did.

Beating the Holiday Blues

Dan Duncan's picture

holiday-blues-stress-depressionThe “holiday blues” can stem from a variety of sources, such as current events, personal grief, loneliness, illnesses of some kind, economic concerns, separation from family members and relationship issues such as divorce.

The Self-Esteem Workbook

The Self-Esteem Workbookby Glenn R. Schiraldi, Matthew McKay, Patrick Fanning - New Harbinger Publications

This is still one of the most comprehensive guides on the subject of self-esteem and offers proven cognitive techniques for talking back to your self-critical voice. This step-by-step process takes you through:


Mind Over Mood

Change How You Feel by Changing the Way You Think


by Dennis Greenberger, Christine A. Padesky - Guilford

This cognitive therapy treatment and training workbook is designed to help change your mood and anxiety through cognitive therapy strategies. This book contains worksheets, exercises and lots of practical information that is easy to read and understand.


Grief and Loss - Address The Natural Processes / Help Yourself and Others Cope

griefGrief is a normal and natural response to loss. A loss doesn’t always mean the death of a loved one, but it can also be an end of a relationship, leaving home, or the loss of financial security. It is often discussed that there are five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. These stages can happen in any order but are typically in the order listed.

Syndicate content